Spire presents Silver Shovel awards to Missouri municipalities

Cities with no at-fault damages to Spire’s infrastructure will be recognized

ST. LOUIS, MO (April 23, 2023) – In recognition of a flawless year with no damages to gas pipelines, Spire is honoring several Missouri municipalities with their annual Silver Shovel award, a recognition created in 2019 to thank local governments for putting a strong focus on safety.

“These municipalities made the decision to put safety first for each and every dig,” said Alan Meyer, Spire damage prevention manager. “Granting these municipalities a silver shovel award is our way of saying thank you for protecting your communities and your employees.”

To be awarded, a municipality must be located within Spire’s service territory, a member in good standing of Missouri One Call and have no at-fault damages to Spire’s facilities in 2023. A special congratulations to first-time winners, including Des Peres, Farmington and Webster Groves in the Missouri East region.

Missouri East region awardees: Ballwin, Clayton, Festus, Lake St. Louis, Manchester, Maryland Heights, St. Louis Forestry Division, Sullivan, University City, St. Peters, St. Charles, Des Peres, Farmington, Webster Groves

Missouri West region awardees: Anderson, Belton, Grandview, Joplin, Liberty, Neosho, Ozark, Webb City, Willard, Higginsville, Republic, Harrisonville, Carl Junction, Marshall